Scott Centenary new place-names

Ross Island mapAs part of the 2012 Centenary of Scott’s Terra Nova expedition, the Antarctic Place-names Committee conducted a joint initiative with the New Zealand Antarctic Names Committee to honour those members of the British National Antarctic Expedition (1910-13) who did not already have place named after them in Antarctica.

After extensive research, it was found that three members of the shore party of the expedition had not been honoured with an Antarctic place-name; Thomas Clissold (cook), Anton Omelchenko (groom) and Demetri Gerof (dog driver). Appropriate features to be named were located close to the expedition’s hut at Cape Evans on Ross Island, using Land Information New Zealand 1:50,000 scale Antarctic maps. The features chosen are important for navigation in the area and therefore required official naming. The UK-APC compiled the proposals and sent them to the New Zealand Geographic Board for consideration. The names were approved in March 2013 and appeared in the New Zealand Gazette on 26 April 2013.

Next year the UK-APC hope to undertake a similar initiative as part of the 2014 Centenary of Shackleton’s Endurance, British Imperial Trans-Antarctic Expedition (1914-17). Features will be located in places relevant to the expedition, namely South Georgia, Elephant Island and Coats Land.